Governor's STEM Advisory Council

The Southeast Iowa STEM Region (SE-Iowa STEM), as indicated by the boundaries set forth by the Iowa Governor's Advisory Council, is a collaborative effort with a partnership with The University of Iowa and Kirkwood Community College. We are able to use the strengths from both institutions to help expand STEM to the communities we serve. The SE Region covers: 66 school districts - most of Grantwood AEA, parts of Mississippi Bend AEA, parts of Great Prairie AEA.

Public school districts in the SE Region have an enrollment of 129,000 K-12 Students (Oct. 2011 Dept. of Education Certified Public Student Enrollment).

Parts of 18 counties (Benton, Cedar, Clinton, Des Moines, Henry, Iowa, Jefferson, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Linn, Louisa, Muscatine, Scott, Van Buren, Wapello, and Washington). 

We also serve the Iowa State Extension & Outreach Offices, Home school associations, parochial schools, Boy/Girl Scout Troops, and childcare facilities, which are located in the counties above.If you are interested in receiving information about the STEM happenings in the SE Region, please add your name to the SE-Iowa STEM mailing list.

For more information about the Iowa Governor's STEM Advisory Council, visit their website.

Upcoming events

Community STEM Day

Cedar Rapids

STEM Day at the Fair

Des Moines